No Down Low With The Flow?

When I was 19 and I had just met Norris, we had scheduled our first “date night”.  It was summer and I was home from college.  Read “date night” as us grabbing some dinner, and then watching a movie back at his place aka code words for “fucking”.  From the moment we scheduled it, I was anxiously looking forward to it.  That man made my crazy colored artsy girl heart go BANG, ZOOM well, more like my lady bits, but at 19 sometimes we often get these parts confused.

In any case, I was having my period, but it was waning.  Still, on the eve of date night, I still had it, and knew it would still be there for the “Big Night”.  This distressed me.  I was always under the impression that sex on your period was “dirty”.  No one ever told me this flat out, but I suppose it’s there in the underlying text when you learn about this marvelous womanly wonder. On the one hand here is this awesome thing that allows your body to produce life, and on the other, it’s deemed a nuisance, and sometimes, a painfully uncomfortable one.  One that is to be kept hidden, and spoken about only in hushed tones and whispers with sideways glances.  Congratulations, you’re a woman!  Oh, sorry, and also dirty and you should be ashamed.

So, needless to say, I had taken it to heart that this was something I should never, ever, consider coming anywhere near a man with.

Oddly enough, there was something about who I was at that point in my life, and luckily so for me, that I was brave and brazen enough to approach the subject with him.  On the eve of the date when he called to confirm our plans, I told him that I had something to ask him.  I tentatively explained that I was finishing up my “monthly”, and while it was mostly gone, there still might be traces of it around for our night together, and hesitantly asked if this would be a problem for him.  What happened next basically spells out how most of my 17 plus year friendship with him ended up being like: he said, “I had a feeling you were going to ask me that.  No, it’s not a problem at all for me”.  You know, that seems like such a small deal, but it was actually quite pivotal.  It’s also one of the many reasons it made him so easy to fall for, as a sexy friend, or otherwise.

This was the beginning of the reversal of any negative subliminal programming I had received regarding my period as dirty or disgusting.

After this I was never afraid to go there without hesitation with lovers, and I have to say I have been exceptionally lucky in that I have never had a man say “No” when I was on my flow.  “Red Wings” have been earned by many a lover, and many a cock have been smothered, covered, and love”red” with my crimson flow.  In some ways, it feels very primal.    I love a man who isn’t squicked out by something so natural, and likewise, wouldn’t justify it as a reason to pass up orgasmic bliss.  I find it hard to imagine enjoying a lover who has such a roadblock.  I’m guessing we wouldn’t be very compatible, as I am not waiting 7 days to stop bleeding just so I can jump my partner.  I am not that patient.

Its blood.  That’s all, people.  Just blood.  Hey, if you read Twilight and swoon over vampires,  obviously the thought of blood isn’t all that disgusting to you.  Why should it get in the way of your pleasure?

Sheets can get thrown in the wash, and come out unstained.  Towels can be placed underneath if you don’t want the hassle of changing your bed sheets.  Most of all, bodies wash off!  Continue that sexy time with sensuous clean up in the shower afterwards!

Think of it this way, if he says “no” to having sex with you for fear of period blood, but has no issues with the thought of anal sex (and thus the possibility of getting shit on his dick) then what does this really say?  Things that make me go hmmmmmm.  Might I add, I love anal, and men who love anal, and men who are just not afraid of bodies in general.  I love a man who can go with the flow.  Red Wingers, I salute you!

In the interest of good science, and just plain nosy curiosity for those out there who are so inclined to share, how do you feel about getting down when you, or your lover, is bleeding?

Ladies, do you avoid sex when you have your period?  If so, why?

Men, do you avoid having sex with your lover when she is having her monthly flow?

Or, because I just like a good story, feel free to share a similar story about this sacred taboo.

10 comments

  1. BondageGirl · November 27, 2012

    Previous partners never liked my period and made a HUGE deal about it..but with Dean he doesn’t care and made me realize it really doesn’t matter. It is /just/ blood.

    • erogenoUSblog · November 28, 2012

      Score one for Dean!! One more reason to like that guy! 😀 Smart man!

      • BondageGirl · November 28, 2012

        Hehe, thanks! I think there’s too many reasons to count…hmm.

  2. charmedbylove · November 28, 2012

    i used to just get on with it during the period, whats there to deny both partners? There’s more to gain than to lose anyway! Although the logistics of handling orgasm, oral and the clean up can be tricky at times! xD

    • erogenoUSblog · November 28, 2012

      “Red Wings” is like a rite of passage, and one you do it, you will wonder what the big fuss was all about! Faces wash clean. Clean up can be fun if it involves a shared shower, soaping each other up, and relaxing warm water. =)

  3. Jaded Joe · November 28, 2012

    I don’t have a problem with it. My ex lover had an internal problem where her period wouldn’t stop for many months and neither of us were willing to wait for her body to make up its mind. Needless to say, the blood did flow and, in the long run, sex actually helped her recover by unblocking things a bit more. See ladies? Penis = plunger.

    • erogenoUSblog · November 28, 2012

      Now I am picturing men with plungers for cocks. Thanks, Joe! Sheesh LOL

      Nothing like a little poking and stroking to keep the fire stoking! 😀

      • Jaded Joe · December 2, 2012

        Haha I like you more every day, twin. 😉

  4. The Redhead Bedhead · November 28, 2012

    I keep meaning to write about this but I never do- Thank you for doing it! I tend to think “why not?” (and I use sea sponges which keep stuff significantly less messy) but then remember that partners don’t always agree so I’ve learned to approach it tactfully but without making a big deal out of it. The responses I’ve gotten have ranged from “hell no” to “I’m a grown man I can handle it, let’s just get a towel”

  5. 1ManView · December 3, 2012

    My spouse has a problem with it, which I didn’t understand since it made her twice as horny. But she can be a neat freak at times. But I didn’t argue, after all, she did give me great blow jobs until she was ready to rock and roll… 🙂 … Love your blog…

Leave a Reply

